Buda’s Castle District

Budapest is literally a city of two halves. Old Buda on one side of the mighty Danube and new comer Pest on the other. Buda is the former capital of the Kingdom of Hungary and sits on the west bank.

Budapest is made up of 23 districts, all numbered clockwise, in widening circles.

District 1 (The Castle District) is home to some of the most impressive of the city’s old architecture including Buda Castle, the Citedella, the quirky Fisherman’s Bastion and the glorious Matthias Church.

Below are some snaps of the gorgeous geometric tiled roof of the church and its ornate spires.


The earliest remains of the church dates back to the 13th century and its name refers to King Matthias Corvinus who expanded and decorated the building in Renaissance style.


He also added the 60 metre high southern  tower called the Matthias bell tower with his coat of arms a raven holding a golden ring in its beak.


The church was almost totally destroyed by the Turks but a new church was constructed of the remains in Baroque style.

In the early 18th century the church suffered more damage and it was finally restored in its current Neo-Gothic style by Frigyes Schulek in 1873-96. Schulek added the beautiful tiled roof and other artists added stained glass windows and frescos.

10530667_10152153956237353_7422112652847593873_n 10525767_10152153949137353_7646745793004245874_n 10521094_10152153956587353_912187618148939492_n

Close to Matthias church is the ornate and quirky Fishermen’s Bastion (Halászbástya) – again designed by Frigyes Schulek in neo-Romanesque neo-Gothic style.


The seven towers, while like a Disney style fantasy, actually represent the seven tribes of Hungarians when they settled down by the Danube in the Carpathian basin in 896.

10423921_10152153956427353_2481068078826550724_n 10484897_10152153949247353_3838009096414847495_n10492575_10152153949402353_1413141241684930149_n 10494811_10152153956627353_3934618659755357314_n

The Fishermen’s Bastion never was used for military defensive purposes, it was created for only decorative reasons.

The building has many whimsical turrets, terraces, parapets and stairways giving an amazing view Pest, the Parliament building and the river Danube.

Published by collymarples

World traveller, proud auntie, bit of a liability.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: