After being buffeted at the top of the wet and windy mountain, we head back down to a more temperate climate for a spot of lunch. What else but a traditional gyros . . yum!
Then it’s back to our little resort of Lassi to explore the sights of the local area. There’s some lovely little coves to explore as the sun starts to dip low in the sky.
As the sun sets we find a lovely little lighthouse to take lots of pictures of.
The lighthouse of Saint Theodoroi lies on a man-made peninsula. It’s a circular structure with 20 columns and its tower is eight metres tall.
The building is rather simple with a Doric architectural style. It was originally built in 1828 by the British administrator Charles Napier, who ruled the island that time.
The lighthouse was destroyed in the earthquake of 1953 and was rebuilt in 1960 by the local architect Takis Pavlatos according to its original architectural design.
There’s a lovely little shingle beach by the lighthouse too that looks gorgeous as the setting sun warms everything with pink and gold.
Another interesting sight to see close by is the Katavothres sea mills that mark the spot of a fascinating natural phenomena.
Sea water enters sink holes and the flow created was used to drive a water wheel to power the mills.
The mystery has always been as to where the water goes. By injecting dyes it was discovered that the water that entered the sink holes came out two weeks later in the Melissani lake and flowed out to the sea at the village of Karavomilos, above sea level.
Today’s time travelling trawl takes us back to the beautiful Kefalonian village of Fiscardo in 2019.
With its pretty little beach, bustling harbour and terraces of adorable houses, it is picture postcard perfect.
Fiscardo is unique in that it is the only village on Kefalonia that has so many of the original Venetian buildings intact and still in use.
From every vantage point the azure ocean stretches to the horizon with any number of boats bobbing serenely on its surface.
Fiscardo is a bit of a boaters paradise and the harbour is jammed pack with boats of all sizes and specifications.
The buildings in Fiscardo managed to escape the devastating earthquake of 1953 that destroyed many parts of Kefalonia. Most of the houses are built in the attractive Venetian design and painted in pastel colours.
Shops and tavernas huddle around the harbour offering numerous opportunities to enjoy the day’s fresh catch.
The ubiquitous Bougainvillea drapes its shocking pink bracts over every surface, brazen in the knowledge that it steals the show every time!
Weathered wood, traditional textiles and colourful paintings are also on offer to the souvenir seekers.
Colourful walls sit baking in the midday sun while sunflowers are an obvious choice to flourish in this sweltering Greek town.
Dropping down to the harbour side offers some respite from the heat and I am a sucker for a floaty boaty!
Taking a walk away from the town and around the headland reveals more stunning, private little covers where clear waters lap at your feet as warm as bath water!
There’s so much to see that it warrants another post! So enjoy the sun seeking hubby as he paddles in the glorious water below!
The Louvre is the world’s largest art museum and also the most visited.
It contains more than 380,000 objects and displays 35,000 works of art and averages 15,000 visitors per day.
The most instantly recognisable part for many people is the pyramid, a controversial addition made in 1989.
The large pyramid serves as the main entrance to the Louvre Museum and it has become a landmark of the city of Paris.
It’s a large glass and metal pyramid designed by Chinese-American architect I. M. Pei that is surrounded by three smaller pyramids.
The pyramid and the underground lobby beneath it were created because of problems with the Louvre’s original main entrance, which could no longer handle the enormous number of visitors on an everyday basis.
Even though it is now one of Paris’s key tourist attractions, the pyramid’s original design inspired a lot of heated debate.
Many people were unhappy with the modern design sitting slap bang in the middle of the classic French Renaissance style of the original museum.
Other concerns included the pyramid being an unsuitable symbol of death from ancient Egypt.
But thankfully all the concerns were put aside and we are now left with the iconic structure for all to enjoy.
Just a few snaps from around the streets of Paris as we head towards the Pompidou Centre.
Street art plays a huge part in the street scene of the French capital as do numerous cafes and bars.
The Pompidou Centre was opened in 1977 and caused a bit of a stir at the time due to its ‘inside-out’ design.
It was the first building in architectural history to be done this way with its structural system, mechanical systems, and circulation exposed on the exterior of the building.
Initially, all of the functional structural elements of the building were colour-coded: green pipes are plumbing, blue ducts are for climate control, electrical wires are encased in yellow, and circulation elements and devices for safety (e.g., fire extinguishers) are red.
Below the husband is either contemplating the complex architecture or he’s hungry . . . .
We’re ticking off the landmarks at a rate of knots on a wet and windy Parisian day.
Next up is the majestic Arc De Triomphe – after the Eiffel Tower it is one of the most iconic of all the Paris sights.
It stands at the western end of the Champs-Élysées at the centre of Place Charles de Gaulle, (formerly named Place de l’Étoile( — the étoile or “star” of the juncture is formed by its 12 radiating avenues.
The Arc de Triomphe was started in 15 August 1806 and inaugurated in 1836 by French king, Louis-Philippe, who dedicated it to the armies of the Revolution and the Empire.
The Unknown Soldier was buried at the base of the arch in 1921.
The torch was designed by architect Henri Favier and is a circular bronze shield at the centre has a cannon muzzle which radiates a frieze of swords.
On 11 November 1923, surrounded by a multitude of former soldiers, the flame was lit for the first time. Since that moment, the flame has never been extinguished.
A daily ritual pays tribute to the Great Dead and each evening, at 6.30pm the flame is rekindled.