Just a few snaps from around the streets of Paris as we head towards the Pompidou Centre.
Street art plays a huge part in the street scene of the French capital as do numerous cafes and bars.
The Pompidou Centre was opened in 1977 and caused a bit of a stir at the time due to its ‘inside-out’ design.
It was the first building in architectural history to be done this way with its structural system, mechanical systems, and circulation exposed on the exterior of the building.
Initially, all of the functional structural elements of the building were colour-coded: green pipes are plumbing, blue ducts are for climate control, electrical wires are encased in yellow, and circulation elements and devices for safety (e.g., fire extinguishers) are red.
Below the husband is either contemplating the complex architecture or he’s hungry . . . .
Some random street shots from our roams around Paris’s streets and parks.
Above is The ‘Fontaine des quatre parties du Monde one of the many ornate fountains in the city.
Le Bateau Ivre” (“The Drunken Boat”) is a 100-line verse-poem written in 1871 by Arthur Rimbaud. This is part of The Wall of Poems project that begun in 1992 in Leiden by the Dutch foundation Tegen Beeld.
It’s written on a wall near Saint Sulpice in Paris as Rimbaud is supposed to have written the poem in a nearby cafe.
Above is one of the many iconic Metropolitan metro signs. While below are a selection of shots from the Latin Quarter.
More colourful artwork adorns the back streets of the Latin Quarter.
As well as wall art there’s lots of street stalls selling everything from Old Master postcards and pulp fiction.
Lots of the stalls are situated alongside the banks of the River Seine. Stall holders simply unlock them in the morning and start trading.
We’re ticking off the landmarks at a rate of knots on a wet and windy Parisian day.
Next up is the majestic Arc De Triomphe – after the Eiffel Tower it is one of the most iconic of all the Paris sights.
It stands at the western end of the Champs-Élysées at the centre of Place Charles de Gaulle, (formerly named Place de l’Étoile( — the étoile or “star” of the juncture is formed by its 12 radiating avenues.
The Arc de Triomphe was started in 15 August 1806 and inaugurated in 1836 by French king, Louis-Philippe, who dedicated it to the armies of the Revolution and the Empire.
The Unknown Soldier was buried at the base of the arch in 1921.
The torch was designed by architect Henri Favier and is a circular bronze shield at the centre has a cannon muzzle which radiates a frieze of swords.
On 11 November 1923, surrounded by a multitude of former soldiers, the flame was lit for the first time. Since that moment, the flame has never been extinguished.
A daily ritual pays tribute to the Great Dead and each evening, at 6.30pm the flame is rekindled.